Lloyd's List is part of Maritime Intelligence

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited, registered in England and Wales with company number 13831625 and address c/o Hackwood Secretaries Limited, One Silk Street, London EC2Y 8HQ, United Kingdom. Lloyd’s List Intelligence is a trading name of Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited. Lloyd’s is the registered trademark of the Society Incorporated by the Lloyd’s Act 1871 by the name of Lloyd’s.

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use. For high-quality copies or electronic reprints for distribution to colleagues or customers, please call UK support at +44 (0)20 3377 3996 / APAC support at +65 6508 2430

Printed By


Houston to host expanded Lloyd’s List Americas Awards

Awards to include five new categories to reflect changing challenges for the shipping industry

Lloyd’s List will launch new categories in an expanded Americas Awards next year to reflect changing challenges for the shipping industry.

The awards will celebrate advancements in fuel solutions, technology for cleaner emissions and cyber security, in response to stricter emissions regulations taking effect in 2020 and growing risks to shipping from cyber-attacks.

The Best Fuel Solution and Best Technology for Cleaner Emissions accolades and the Cyber Security Innovation Award are among five new categories.

There will be a new Cruise Safety Innovation award in recognition of the vanguard role the cruise sector plays in general maritime safety and the importance of the industry in the Americas.

A growing awareness of the role that ports play in shipping, supply chain and local communities and economies in the Americas will also be recognised by the new category of Port Infrastructure Development of the Year.

The new areas for judging will reinforce Lloyd’s List’s commitment to supporting the industry through traditional categories such as Ship Operator of the Year, Port Operator of the Year, Company of the Year, Deal of the Year and others.

The Lloyd’s List Americas Awards, celebrated in New York this year, will be held in Houston in 2018 on the evening of May 23, following Informa KNect 365’s Gas Shipping North America conference. We chose Houston to host the awards because of its rapidly growing importance as a global energy exporting centre and to support the city’s recovery from the devastating damage caused by Hurricane Harvey in August, 2017.

Entries will be judged by an independent panel of distinguished industry leaders from Canada, the Caribbean, Central and South America and the United States. They will be looking for excellence, innovation and role models in an industry trying to keep pace with change occurring at unparalleled speed.

Lloyd’s List is proud to host the Americas Awards to celebrate the endeavours of companies, individuals and organisations, as part of our global portfolio of awards comprising the APAC Awards, the Global Freight Awards, the Greek Shipping Awards, the South Asia, Middle East and Africa Awards and culminating in the Lloyd’s List Global Awards in London on December 11, 2018.

The full list of categories for the Americas Awards is available here.





Ask The Analyst

Please Note: You can also Click below Link for Ask the Analyst
Ask The Analyst

Your question has been successfully sent to the email address below and we will get back as soon as possible. my@email.address.

All fields are required.

Please make sure all fields are completed.

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please enter a valid Phone Number

Ask your question to our analysts